Patient Resources

At Perinatal Specialists of the Palm Beaches, P.A., we think it’s important for our patients to have reliable resources they can reference outside of our offices. We have pulled together a list of terms that may apply to some of our higher risk patients. We wanted to be sure to point you to some resources we consider valuable as you do your online searching. And you can always speak with our providers during your office visits or call one of our nurses for additional information.

Medical Conditions:

Incompetent Cervix – http://pregnancy.about.com/cs/incompetentcervix/a/aaincomp.htm
Gestational Diabetes –http://www.diabetes.org/diabetes-basics/gestational/what-is-gestational-diabetes.html
Hypertension (high blood pressure) – http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/public/heart/hbp/hbp_preg.htm
Miscarriage – http://www.americanpregnancy.org/pregnancycomplications/miscarriage.html
Oligohydramnios – http://www.marchofdimes.com/pregnancy/complications_oligohydramnios.html
Placenta Previa – http://www.emedicinehealth.com/placenta_previa_in_pregnancy/article_em.htm
Polyhydramnios – http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/polyhydramnios/DS01156
Pre-existing Diabetes – http://www.diabetes.org/for-media/2010/pregnancy-and-pre-existing-diabetes.html
Premature Labor (Pre-term) – http://women.webmd.com/premature-labor
Spotting and Bleeding – http://www.emedicinehealth.com/pregnancy_bleeding/article_em.htm

Genetic Conditions:

Cleft Palate –http://www.webmd.com/parenting/baby/tc/cleft-palate-topic-overview
Cystic Fibrosis –http://www.cff.org/AboutCF/
Down Syndrome –http://www.ndss.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=54:down-syndrome-fact-sheet&catid=35:about-down-syndrome&Itemid=74
Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy –http://www.mda.org/disease/dmd.html
Fragile X –http://www.fragilex.org/html/what.htm
Hemophilia A –http://www.hemophilia.org/NHFWeb/MainPgs/MainNHF.aspx?menuid=180&contentid=45&rptname=bleeding
Polycystic Kidney Disease –http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/polycystic-kidney-disease/DS00245
Spina Bifida –http://www.spinabifidaassociation.org/site/c.liKWL7PLLrF/b.2642327/k.5899/FAQ_About_Spina_Bifida.htm
Spinal Muscular Atrophy – http://www.smafoundation.org/about-sma
Tay Sachs Disease – http://www.tay-sachs.org/taysachs_disease.php
Thalassemia – http://www.thalassemia.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=19&Itemid=27
Sickle Cell Anemia – http://www.medicinenet.com/sickle_cell/article.htm

Pregnancy Terms:

Amniocentesis – http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/amniocentesis/MY00155
Breech Position –http://www.webmd.com/baby/tc/breech-position-and-breech-birth-topic-overview
Cesarean Birth – http://www.marchofdimes.com/pregnancy/csection_indepth.html
Fetal Positions Before Birth –http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/fetal-positions/PR00080
Glucose Screening Test – http://www.americanpregnancy.org/prenataltesting/glucosetest.html
Group B Strep – http://www.cdc.gov/groupbstrep/about/index.html
Nuchal Fold Test – http://pregnancy.about.com/od/prenataltests/a/nuchalfold.htm
Progesterone – http://women.webmd.com/progesterone-15286
Toxoplasmosis – http://www.cdc.gov/parasites/toxoplasmosis/
Umbilical Cord Prolapse – http://my.clevelandclinic.org/healthy_living/pregnancy/hic_umbilical_cord_prolapse.aspx

Comments are closed.